The GoCoast 2020 Commission was made up of a broad range of citizens from across the Mississippi Gulf Coast. They are to be commended for their time, effort, and creativity in helping formulate this Report.

Because of their dedication to GoCoast 2020 and the entire Mississippi Coast, the result is a Report that can be used as a road map for the future implementation of the RESTORE Act so Mississippi can be well-prepared to move forward.

The following is a list of Co-Chairs, Members and Advisors who worked closely and collectively to produce the contents of this Report:


Co-Chair      Sen. Brice Wiggins (District 52)
Co-Chair      Trudy Fisher, Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality

Laura Bowie, Gulf of Mexico Alliance
Rep. Billy Broomfield (District 110)
Bob Fairbank, Mississippi Power Company
Les Fillingane, Mayor, City of Bay St. Louis
Sen. Tommy Gollott (District 50)
Kay Kell, Commission on Environmental Quality
Anice Liddell, Mayor, City of Moss Point
Brandon Pike , Wetland Solutions
Judy Steckler , Land Trust, Mississippi Coastal Plain
LaDon Swann, Mississippi-Alabama Sea Grant Consortium
Rep. Hank Zuber (District 113)

Non-governmental Organization Advisors:
Thao “Jennifer” Vu, Mississippi Coalition for Vietnamese American Fisher Folk
Tom Mohrman, The Nature Conservancy

Economic Development

Co-Chair      Ed Day, Mississippi Power Company
Co-Chair      Brent Christensen, Mississippi Development Authority

Chris Anderson, Singing River Health Systems
Rep. Charles Busby (District 111)
Rep. Scott Delano (District 117)
Dave Estorge, Memorial Hospital Foundation
George Freeland, Jackson County Economic Development Foundations
John Harral, Butler, Snow, O’Mara, Stevens and Cannada
Billy Hewes, Hewes Insurance
Tom Kovar, Chevron
Jack Norris, Gulf Coast Business Council
Bob Occhi, Coast Electric Power Association
Supervisor Kim Savant, Harrison County
Patrick Scheuermann, Stennis Space Center
Sen. Tony Smith (District 47)
Shorty Sneed, Stewart, Sneed, Hewes
Clay Wagner, Hancock Bank
Clay Williams, Gulfport-Biloxi International Airport


Co-Chair      Rep. Jessica Upshaw (District 95)
Co-Chair      Dr. Bill Walker, Mississippi Department of Marine Resources

Sen. Debbie Dawkins (District 48)
Sean Desporte, Desporte & Sons
Richard Gollot, Golden Gulf Coast Packing
Rep. Jeffrey Guice (District 114)
Brent Gutierrez, Custom Pack, Inc.
A.J. Holloway, Mayor, City of Biloxi
Joe Jenkins, Crystal Seas Oysters
Mark Mavar, Biloxi Freezing & Processing, Inc.
Capt. Jay Trochesset, Silver Dollar Fishing Charters

Non-governmental Organization Advisors:
Kaitlin Troung, Asian Americans for Change
Kris Van Orsdel, Ocean Conservancy


Co-Chair Sen. Michael Watson (District 51)
Co-Chair Trudy Fisher, Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality

Rep. Richard Bennett (District 120)
Commissioner Leonard Bentz, Public Service Commission
Steven Bevilaqua, John Fayard Moving and Warehousing
Wally Carter, Mississippi Gaming Commission
Kevin Coggin, Coast Transit Authority
Mayor Chuck Ingraham, City of Diamondhead
Commissioner Tom King, Mississippi Department of Transportation
Stephen Landry, Hancock County Port and Harbor Commission
Travis Lott, Gulfport-Biloxi International Airport
Dane Maxwell, Transportation Compliance Services, USA
Mark McAndrews, Port of Pascagoula
Supervisor John McKay, Jackson County
Jerry St. Pé, retired

Non-governmental Organization Advisors:
Howard Page, Steps Coalition
Noni Debardeleben, Women of the Storm


Co-Chair      John Hairston, Hancock Bank
Co-Chair      Brent Christensen, Mississippi Development Authority

Woody Bailey, Bailey Lumber and Supply
Frank Bertucci, F.E.B. Distributing
Rick Carter, Island View Casino Resort
Richard Chenowith, Scranton’s Restaurant & Catering
George Corchis, Beau Rivage
Rep. Casey Eure (District 116)
Chet Harrison, Hollywood Casino
Bill Holmes, Mississippi Coast Coliseum & Convention Center
Mark LaSalle, Pascagoula River Audubon Center
Beverly Martin, Harrison County Tourism Commission
Denny Meachim, Ohr-O’Keefe Museum of Art
Margaret Miller, Ocean Springs Chamber of Commerce
Kimberly Nastasi, Mississippi Gulf Coast Chamber of Commerce
Sen. Sean Tindell (District 49)
Kathy Wilkinson, Harrison County Tourism Commission
Frank Genzer, Genzer-WHLC Architecture


Co-Chair      Jim McIngvale, Ingalls Shipbuilding
Co-Chair      Mark Henry, Mississippi Department of Employment Security

Rep. Manly Barton (District 109)
Donald Evans, International Longshoremen Association
Mary Graham , Mississippi Gulfcoast Community College
Jonathan Jones, Grand Casino
Jimmy Lane, Lane Construction Company
Rep. Doug McLeod (District 107)
Marilyn Minor , South Mississippi Planning & Development District
Chris Monforton, Habitat for Humanity
Sen. Phillip Moran (District 46)
Les Newcomb, South Mississippi Planning & Development District
Diann Payne, Jackson County Civic Action Committees
Ron Peresich, Page, Mannino, Peresich & McDermott
Rep. Sonya Willams-Barnes (District 119)

Non-governmental Organization Advisor:
Daniel Le, Boat People SOS

Small Business

Co-Chair      George Schloegel, Mayor, City of Gulfport
Co-Chair      Mark Henry, Mississippi Department of Employment Security

Farrell Alman, S.F. Alman, Ltd.
Rep. David Baria (District 122)
Mark Cumbest, Cumbest Realty, Inc.
Don Halle, Gulf Commercial Construction
Rep. Greg Haney (District 118)
David Hughes, Community Bank
Kim LaRosa, Gulf Coast Renaissance Corporation
Bob Mahoney, Mary Mahoney’s Restaurant
Robbie Maxwell, Mayor, City of Pascagoula
Kent Nicaud, Memorial Hospital of Gulfport
Rep. John Read (District 112)
Chevis Swetman, The Peoples Bank
Tish Williams, Hancock County Chamber of Commerce

Non-governmental Organization Advisor:
Bishop James Black, Center for Environmental and Economic Justice

Research and Education

Co-Chair      Supervisor Lisa Cowand, Hancock County
Co-Chair      Dr. Bill Walker, Mississippi Department of Marine Resources

Ed Blakeslee, Institutions of Higher Learning
Dr. Hank Bounds, Institutions of Higher Learning
David Brannon, Stennis Space Center
Rep. Carolyn Crawford (District 121)
Dr. Eric Powell, Gulf Coast Research Lab
Rep. Timmy Ladner (District 93)
Dr. Aubrey Lucas, University of Southern Mississippi
Rep. Randall Patterson (District 115)
Dr. Moby Solangi, Institute for Marine Mammal Studies
Dr. Vernon Asper, University of Southern Mississippi